Central High School Students Honored as Illinois State Scholars

Established 1948

ISAC honors 42 high school seniors for the 2023-2024 school year

Central 301 is excited to announce the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC) has honored 42 Central High School seniors as Illinois State Scholars for the 2023-24 school year. According to ISAC, considerations for this honor include: exemplary college assessment exam scores and a strong record of high school achievement, including unweighted GPA, class rank and school size. 

We have so much pride for these students,” said Dr. Esther Mongan, Central 301 Superintendent of Schools. “Their hard work, perseverance and academic coursework chosen during their educational experience at Central has paid off.

Many of these students not only excel in academics but as truly amazing human beings. Truly exemplar!”

Each student was given a Certificate of Achievement from the organization, plus they now have access to digital badges that they can use on their social media pages and online profiles. Central High School celebrated these students’ outstanding achievements with a breakfast in our Central High School cafeteria on November 20th, prior to the Thanksgiving Holiday.

Below is a list of Illinois State Scholars at Central High School for the 2023-24 school year:

Afeef, Zayn
Alex, Jadon
Andersen, Kenzie
Anderson, Duke
Anderson, Robert
Basa, Leila
Brandes, Jenna
Chokkaththeyandath, Vishnu
Cunningham, Haylie
Devol, Thomas
Domaleczny, Brianna
Durckel, Danielle
Gulati, Kyra
Hinkleman, Adam
Jaswani, Soham
Karavasis, Eirini
Karottu, Elisha
Khwaja, Obaid
Kim, Braedyn
Kowall, Joseph
Larson, Emma
Mangondaya, Andre
Nava, Daniel
Olvera, Ethan
Patel, Sia
Patel, Yaisha
Payton, Andrew
Perez, Alan
Ruthenberg, Ryan
Saligumba, Claire
Samuelian, Eva
Sanceda, Tristan
Seela, Lakshmi j
Shah, Aarya
Simek, Natalie
Supehia, Eesha
Thakkar, Aadi
Thakkar, Aarya
Thakkar, Diya
Wood, Luke
Yarger, Kyrie
Zielinski, Victoria


Central Community Unit School District 301 was founded in 1948 and educates nearly 5,000 students from Elgin, St. Charles, Campton Hills, Sycamore, Hampshire, Pingree Grove, Maple Park and Burlington. More than 270 educators work at four (4) elementary schools, two (2) middle schools, and one (1) high school within the district spread out over 83 square miles in Central Kane County. As one of the fastest growing school districts in the United States, Central 301 has consistently received an “A” rating from Niche as one of the Top 25 unit school districts in Illinois. A majority of our district schools are ranked among the top 10 percent, per the Illinois State Board of Education. Please visit www.Central301.net for more information.